Sports Hall of Fame

The Initiative to immortalize the legacies from Nanaimo’s sports community was launched in 2008 and recognizes achievement in five categories – Athlete, Builder, Media, Trailblazer (Pioneer), and Team.

Located in the lobby of the museum, the Sports Hall of Fame is free to view and showcases Nanaimo’s talented and dedicated sporting community. Nominations to the SHOF are accepted year-round, and the Induction Ceremonies happen every second year.

The next induction ceremony will be in February of 2024 and will be part of the Nanaimo Sports Achievement Awards evening. After postponements for COVID and its aftermath, we are pleased to be able to announce that there will be a ceremony early next year!  We now need nominators to put forward the names & information of those they would like to see considered for this induction cycle. The nomination window for the 2024 induction ceremony will close on December 15th, 2023.

Please email or call 250-753-1821 with inquiries and to avoid multiple nominations for the same nominee.

Sports Hall of Fame Nominations

We are actively looking for nominations from the community for the Nanaimo Sports Hall of Fame! All nominations submitted from 2016 forward will be considered for selection. The nomination deadline for the 2024 Induction year is December 15th, 2023. We are encouraging submissions through our online application portal, but paper copies are available upon request. Applications are intended to be barrier-free, so please contact or call 250-753-1821 if you require assistance.

Nanaimo Museum Sports Hall of Fame

2008 Inductees

Souvenir Programme
1914 Northfield Violets, Pioneer - Soccer
1923 Nanaimo FC Wanderers, Pioneer - Soccer
1956 IWA Nanaimo Timbermen, Team - Lacrosse
Gerald Kazanowski Olympian 1984 & 1988, Athelete - Basketball
Phil Olsen Olympian 1976, Athlete - Javelin
Brenda Taylor Olympian 1988 & 1992, Athlete - Rowing
Larry Thomas, Media
Hugh (Red) Thomson Olympian 1936, Pioneer - Mile Runner
F. Elwood Wylie, Builder
Harry R. Wipper, Builder

2009 Inductees

Souvenir Programme
Angie Dobie (Radonovich), Athlete - Basketball
Micheal Edgson, Athlete - Swimming
Bill English, Builder
Lloyd Gilmour, Builder
Don MacRae Rink, Team - Curling
John Sandland, Pioneer - Athlete
Ray Telford, Athlete - Soccer
Douglas White, Athlete - Lacrosse & Football

2010 Inductees

Souvenir Programme
Angela Chalmers, Athlete - Track & Field
Michael Rhode, Media
Frank Crane, Builder
Leo Margolis, Builder
Alfred (Red) Carr, Builder
Barry Pederson, Athlete - Hockey
1983 Malaspina Mariners, Team - Soccer

2011 Inductees

Souvenir Programme
Ernest Edmunds, Athlete - Soccer
Michelle Stilwell Paralympian 2000-2008, Athlete - Basketball & Racing
Alan Hill, Athlete - Hockey
Larry McNabb, Builder

2012 Inductees

Souvenir Programme
Don Ashbee, Athlete - Lacrosse
Allison Forsyth, Athlete - Skiing
Jim Gold, Builder
Mary Thomasson (Frizzell), Pioneer

2013 Inductees

Souvenir Programme
Gene Carr, Athlete - Hockey
Susan Reid (Schellinck), Athlete - Field Hockey
Les Varro, Builder
Margaret Fuller Rink, Team - Curling

2015 Inductees

Souvenir Programme
Wayne Bianchin, Athlete - Hockey
Fred Fulla, Athlete - Lacrosse
Dr. Ed Johnson, Builder
Harry Manson, Pioneer

2017 Inductees

Souvenir Programme
Aaron Guiel, Athlete - Baseball
Richie Nichol, Pioneer - Basketball
Steve Smith, Athlete - Downhill MTB
2009 VI Raiders Team, Team - Football

Nomination Form

Sports Hall of Fame Nomination Submission Portal

Follow the link below to nominate someone in the Athlete, Team, Trailblazer, Media, or Builder categories for the Nanaimo Museum Sports Hall of Fame!